Product Reviews

Gluten Free Halloween Candy Guide

October 31, 2018


It’s that time of the year again, the temperature is starting to drop, there’s a nice breeze in the air, and Pumpkin Spice Lattes are the early morning pick-me-up to everyone’s day. October is probably one of the most interesting times of the year for Floridians because we actually get to experience a change in the weather and kids are voluntarily staying out and playing for long periods of time. So, in honor of this festive time of the year, we decided to compile a list of gluten free candies you might want to handout to the little goblins and princesses knocking at your door (or perhaps utilize as a way to clean out your kids candy bags before they start digging in!).

Happy Halloween everyone!

Gluten Free Halloween List:

Hershey’s

Hershey’s maintains a list of gluten free candies and updates it several times each year. The following list of Hershey’s candies are considered gluten free to less than 20 parts per million:

  • Almond Joy (all except for Almond Joy Pieces candy)
  • Mounds (all)
  • Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Kisses
  • Hershey’s Special Dark Kisses (but not the Special Dark candy bar)
  • Hershey’s Filled Chocolate Kisses in the following flavors: Milk Chocolate, Chocolate Filled with Caramel, Chocolate Filled with Cherry Cordial Creme, Vanilla Creme, Dark Chocolate Filled with Mint Truffle, Pumpkin Spice, Carrot Cake, Meltaway Milk Chocolates, Special Dark Mildly Sweet Chocolate
  • Hershey’s Hugs
  • Hershey’s Nuggets (milk chocolate, milk chocolate with almonds, special dark chocolate with almonds, and extra creamy milk chocolate with toffee and almonds)
  • Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Bar, only in the 1.55 oz. size
  • Hershey’s Milk Chocolate with Almonds Bar, only in the 1.45 oz. size
  • Hershey’s Air Delight
  • Hershey’s Milk Duds
  • Heath Bars (all)
  • Payday (all)
  • Reese’s Fast Break bar
  • Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups (all except for seasonal shaped items, such as Valentine’s hearts)
  • Reese’s Pieces (all except for Reese’s Pieces Eggs)
  • Rolo Caramels in Milk Chocolate (all except for Minis)
  • Skor
  • Skor Toffee Bar
  • York Peppermint Pattie (all except for York Pieces candies, York Minis, and York Shapes)
The following Hershey’s products are NOT gluten free:
  • Hershey’s Special Dark Bar
  • Hershey’s Cookies ‘N’ Creme Bar
  • Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Drops
  • Hershey’s Miniatures
  • Mr. Goodbar
  • Symphony Bar
  • Hershey’s Extra Dark Chocolate

Mars Chocolate

Mars Chocolate makes M&M’s, Dove, Snickers and other products. The company does not maintain a gluten free list of products; instead, it urges gluten free consumers to check labels and promises to call out any wheat, barley and rye ingredients by name, as well as any cross-contamination risks, on the label.

  • M&M’s (EXCEPT for pretzel-flavored M&M’s).
  • 3 Musketeers Bars (all flavors)
  • Milky Way Midnight Bar (not the original Milky Way Bar)
  • Milky Way Caramel Bar
  • Dove Chocolate products (all flavors EXCEPT for milk chocolate cinnamon graham/cookies and cream)
  • Snickers Bars (all flavors)
  • Munch Nut Bar (the customer service representative urges consumers to check the labels on this one)

The following Mars Chocolate products have NOT been gluten free:

  • M&M Pretzel flavor and some M&M seasonal flavors
  • Some packages of seasonal flavored M&Ms—in the past this has included White Chocolate, Mint and M&M Coconut flavors
  • Milky Way Bar (original)
  • Mars Bar
  • Mars Combos (a snack mix)

Nestle USA

Nestle USA labels only a small handful of candies and chocolate as “gluten free,” meaning the company has tested them and confirmed that they contain less than 20 parts per million of gluten. These candies include:

  • Butterfinger bars, but only in fun size, singles, and share pack (Butterfinger Bites, Butterfinger Minis, Butterfinger Cups, and special holiday-shaped Butterfinger items are NOT considered gluten free)
  • Goobers
  • Nips (including both regular and sugar-free)
  • Raisinets (including Cranberry and Dark Chocolate flavors)
  • Toll House morsels and chunks (most, including the popular semi-sweet and milk chocolate morsels, are labeled gluten free—look for those with a “gluten free” designation)

The following Nestle candies have no gluten ingredients:

  • Baby Ruth
  • Bit-O-Honey
  • Milk Chocolate
  • Oh Henry!
  • Sno-Caps
  • Wonka Pixy Stix
  • Laffy Taffy (including Laffy Taffy Rope)
  • Wonka Lik-M-Aid Fun Dip

The following Nestle candy products are NOT gluten free:

  • Butterfinger Crisp Bar
  • Butterfinger Giant Bar
  • Butterfinger Snackerz
  • Butterfinger Medallions
  • Butterfinger Jingles
  • Butterfinger Hearts
  • Butterfinger Pumpkins
  • Kit Kat Bar
  • Wonka Nerds
  • Sweetarts
  • Wonka Bar (all flavors)
  • Chewy Spree
  • Wonka Gummies
  • Wonka Kazoozles
  • Everlasting Gobstopper
  • 100 Grand Bar

Tootsie Roll Industries

Tootsie Roll Industries, which also makes Charms products, says that, as of September 2016, all of the companies confections are considered gluten free except Andes cookies.

According to Tootsie Rolls Industries, the following candies are gluten free:

  • Tootsie Rolls
  • Fruit Rolls
  • Junior Mints
  • Frooties
  • Dots
  • Tropical Dots
  • Crows
  • Cella’s Milk Chocolate Covered Cherries
  • Cella’s Dark Chocolate Covered Cherries
  • Junior Mints
  • Dubble Bubble
  • Charleston Chew
  • Junior Caramels
  • Tootsie Pops
  • Tootsie Peppermint Pops
  • Caramel Apple Pops
  • Fruit Smoothie Pops
  • Tropical Stormz Pops
  • Child’s Play
  • Charms Blow Pops
  • Charms Super Blow Pops
  • Charms Pops
  • Zip-A-Dee-Mini Pops
  • Fluffy Stuff Cotton Candy
  • Sugar Daddy Pops
  • Sugar Mama Caramels
  • Charms Squares
  • Charms Sour Balls
  • Charms Candy Carnival
  • Pops Galore
  • Andes
  • Sugar Babies

Necco

Necco probably is best known for its small sugar Valentine heart candies — the pastel-colored ones that say “Be Mine” and “True Love” — but candy stashes often turn up a few Necco products every Halloween, as well.

According to Necco, the following products do not contain gluten from wheat, rye, oats or barley:

  • Necco Wafers
  • Necco Chocolate Wafers
  • Candy House Candy Buttons
  • Canada Mint, Wintergreen and Spearmint Lozenges
  • Mary Jane
  • Mary Jane Peanutbutter Kisses (available for Halloween only)
  • Banana Splits Chews
  • Mint Julep Chews
  • Haviland Thin Mints, Wintergreen Patty, Nonpareils and Chocolate Stars
  • Skybar
  • Sweethearts (for Valentine’s Day only)
  • Conversation Hearts (available for Valentine’s Day only)
  • Mary Jane peanut butter kisses (for Halloween only)

Ferrara Candy Company

Ferrara makes such brands as Bob’s (well-known for candy canes) and Brach’s. According to the company, the following candies contain no wheat, rye, barley or oats:

  • Candy canes (Bob’s, Brach’s, Lemonhead & Friends, Red Hots) — these also are considered allergen-free
  • Atomic Fireballs
  • All gummies (Black Forest, Ferrara, Sathers, Trolli)
  • All jellies (Gum Drops, Orange Slices)
  • Bob’s Sweet Stripes
  • Boston Baked Beans (contains peanuts)
  • Brach’s Wild ‘N Fruity Gummi Worms
  • Brach’s Candy Corn (processed in a facility that also processes wheat)
  • Brach’s Cinnamon Disks/Imperials
  • Brach’s Conversation Hearts
  • Brach’s Jelly Bean Nougats (processed in a facility that processes wheat)
  • Brach’s Lemon Drops (Kosher)
  • Brach’s Halloween Mellowcremes (processed in a facility that processes wheat)
  • Cherry Sours
  • Fruit Snacks (Ferrara, Black Forest, Trolli)
  • Gumballs
  • Jawbreakers/Jawbusters
  • Jelly Beans
  • Juju’s
  • Jujy’s
  • Lemonheads
  • Lemonheads & Friends Conversation Hearts
  • Tropical Chewy Lemonhead
  • Chewy Lemonhead & Friends
  • Berry Chewy Lemonhead
  • Cherryhead
  • Grapehead
  • Now & Later
  • Red Hot’s

Impact Confections Inc.

Impact makes Warheads sour candies, which always seem to wind up in our Halloween stash. Many of the company’s products are considered gluten free, but be careful, as multiple candies have similar names but very different allergen profiles:

  • Carousel/Color-Blaster Pops (considered gluten free)
  • Lollipop Paint Shop (considered gluten free; made on equipment that processes soy)
  • Warheads Extreme Sour Hard Candy (considered gluten free; contains soy; equipment shared with peanut and milk products)
  • Warheads Extreme Sour Hard Candy Minis (considered gluten free; equipment shared with milk and soy products)
  • Warheads Sour Chewy Cubes (considered gluten free; equipment shared with peanut products)
  • Warheads Sour Jelly Beans (made in facility shared with wheat, peanuts, milk, egg and soy)
  • Warheads Super Sour Double Drops (considered gluten free; facility shared with egg products)
  • Warheads Super Sour Spray Candy (considered gluten free)
  • Warheads Sour Dippers (considered gluten free; equipment shared with soy products)
  • Warheads Sour Candy Canes (contain soy; made in facility shared with wheat, peanuts, tree nuts, milk, egg, and soy)
  • Melster Chocolate-Covered Marshmallow (considered gluten free; contains milk and soy, made on equipment that also processes peanuts)
  • Melster Compound-Coated Marshmallow (considered gluten free; contains milk and soy, made on equipment that also processes peanuts)
  • Melster Chocolate-Covered Creme Drops (considered gluten free; contains milk and soy, made on equipment that also processes peanuts)
  • Melster Compound Coated Creme Drops (considered gluten free; contains milk and soy, made on equipment that also processes peanuts)
  • Melster Salt Water Taffy (considered gluten free; contains milk and soy, made on equipment that also processes peanuts)
  • Melster Peanut Butter Kisses (considered gluten free; contains peanuts, milk and soy)
  • Melster Circus Peanuts (considered gluten free; contains peanuts, made on equipment that processes milk and soy)
  • Melster Sanded Marshmallow (considered gluten free; made on equipment that processes peanuts, milk and soy)
  • Melster Coconut Toasties (considered gluten free; made on equipment that processes peanut, milk and soy)

Impact Convections products that are NOT gluten free include:

  • Warheads Sour Twists (contains wheat)
  • Warheads Sour Coolers (contains oat fiber)

As I said, many of these have very similar names, so be very careful to double-check labels — it’s easy to make a mistake!

Just Born

Peeps marshmallow treats, made by Just Born, used to appear only at Easter, but in recent years, we’ve seen Halloween Peeps shaped like pumpkins and ghosts, Christmas Peeps in the shape of trees, and heart-shaped Peeps for Valentine’s Day.

According to Just Born, the following candies are gluten free:

  • Mike and Ike Berry Blast
  • Mike and Ike Italian Ice
  • Mike and Ike Jolly Joes
  • Mike and Ike Lemonade Blends
  • Mike and Ike Original Fruits
  • Mike and Ike Redrageous
  • Mike and Ike Tangy Twister
  • Mike and Ike Tropical Typhoon
  • Mike and Ike Zours
  • Mike and Ike Jelly Beans
  • Mike and Ike Hot Tamales
  • Goldenberg’s Vintage Peanut Chews

Hope this list helps!

Have a happy and safe Halloween everyone!

You Might Also Like